University of Tennessee, School of Art

Booth # D26

213 Art & Architecture Building
1715 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996-2410
t. 865 974-3407
Contact: David Wilson ( and Dorothy Habel (

In 2013, the School of Art at the University of Tennessee launched an exciting project led by three of our alumni—Wade Guyton ’95, Meredyth Sparks ’94, and Josh Smith ’98—each of whom selected artists from among the School of Art alumni and former Artists-in-Residence to contribute an image for their individualized box as part of a Limited Box Edition.

All proceeds from this project will be directed to the endowment of the Artist-in-Residence (AIR) Program in Painting and Drawing, now celebrating its 35th year.

Founded in 1982, the AIR program supports two semester-long residencies each academic year. Since its inception some 80 artists, collectively, have taught over 3,000 undergraduate and graduate students. This program, one of the oldest of its kind in the country, has a remarkable roster of participating artists.

All images in the Limited Box Edition are digital prints (archival inks on Epson Bright Smooth Matte archival paper) measuring 19” x 13”, and each is an edition of 100. Guyton, Sparks and Smith each have contributed an image and also customized the boxes for their individual editions.

The suite of three boxes in this Limited Box Edition is available to donors who make gifts of at least $10,000 ($9,300 of which will be tax-deductible) to the AIR Endowment Campaign.

On exhibit will be an example of the suite of three Boxes (each custom box and a total of 31 prints) along with a selection of framed images from all three of the boxes in the Limited Box Edition.

Curators:        Wade Guyton (BFA ’95) Meredyth Sparks (BFA ‘94) Josh Smith (BFA ‘98)

Artists:           Cheryl Donegan (AIR ‘95) Richard Phillips (AIR ’94) Carrie Moyer (AIR ‘01) Suzanne Joelson (AIR ’87) Michael St. John (BFA ’97) Kelly White (BFA ’94) Mira Schor (AIR ‘91) Richard Aldrich (AIR ‘06) Marlo Pascual (BFA ’94) Melissa Gordon (AIR ‘10) Ezra Johnson (AIR ‘11) Ashley Nason (MFA ‘99) Judith Eisler (AIR ‘04) Pam Jorden (BFA ’92) Jon Boles (MFA ‘98) Pinkney Herbert (AIR ‘92) Amy Green (BFA ’95) Jackie Gendel (AIR ‘08) Alisha Kerlin (BFA ’05) Sam Gordon (AIR ‘02) Ann Craven (AIR ‘98) Keltie Ferris (AIR ’11) Wallace Whitney (AIR ’07) Gary Stephan (AIR ’87) Virginia Overton (studied at UT) Josephine Halvorson (AIR ’12) Guyton\Walker (BFAs ’95)

Please stop by to see this exceptional work and feel confident in knowing that your gift will not only procure the Limited Box Edition for your collection, but will also fund the development of future University of Tennessee artists following in the footsteps of our curators and the contributing artists.



Wade Guyton custom box (outside top & inside bottom) along with a view of digital print by Cheryl Donegan inside Guyton box (2014)